On a lovely September day the Emerton-Court final was played at Churston. Although there was a fairly stiff breeze blowing from the North West, the real problem for both teams was the slick putting surfaces. At the end of a very close and tense final especially for the supporters following the matches, Sidmouth beat Tiverton and are Champions for the third time, having previously won the Trophy in 1989 and 1995.

Sidmouth got off to the best of starts, going into a 3 up after 5 lead, despite losing the 200-yard 1st to a birdie 2. That lead became 4 and the steady stream of pars/nett pars and nett birdies down the back 9 retained that advantage to a 4/3 win.

The next two games were close, 1 hole either way. Sidmouth second pair were one down on the 18thcould only halve the hole. 1 game all.

Sidmouth 3rd pair had a chance to go 2 up at 13, but the putt stayed fractionally high. They stuck to their task as they ran out 2/1 winners. 2-1 Sidmouth.

Sidmouth 4th  looked in trouble when they lost the 13th, at that point going 2 down. Guess what the Captain, said to them as they walked up the hill to the 14th tee – “2 up and 5 never wins”. How right he was. They won 4 holes in a row from the 14th to close out their game 2/1 and win the Trophy for Sidmouth with the 3rd win from the 5 matches.

The last match declared the final game a half as the two pairs stood all square on the last tee.

At the end of the day, a very enjoyable competitive but friendly final played out by two teams who had played wonderfully all year. Just to make the final is an incredible achievement so congratulations to both teams for doing so. Sidmouth hold the Emerton-Court trophy and Tiverton the Harold Lee Salver

            President presents the Winners Trophy to                                                      President presents the Runners up Salver to                            

              John Barnard, the Captain of Sidmouth.                                                             Peter Stuckey , the Captain of Tiverton



                      The Winning Sidmouth Team                                                                          The Tiverton Runner's Up Team


Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.